Gila River Indian Community

The reservation has a land area of 583.749 sq mi (1,511.902 km²) and a 2000 Census population of 11,257. It is made up of seven districts along the Gila River and its largest communities are Sacaton, Komatke, Santan, and Blackwater. Tribal administrative offices and departments are located in Sacaton. 


The Gila River Indian Community lies adjacent to the south side of the City of Phoenix, within the Phoenix Metropolitan Area in Pinal and Maricopa counties. The Gila River Indian Reservation was established in 1859, and the Gila River Indian Community was formally established by Congress in 1939. The community is home for members of both the Akimel O’otham (Pima) and the Pee-Posh (Maricopa) tribes.